Quote for a whole book
Thread poster: Dennise Serrano
Dennise Serrano
Dennise Serrano  Identity Verified
United States
English to Spanish
+ ...
Aug 18, 2017

I was offered my very first book to translate. It is a history book about a colonial house and the family who had lived in it for generations. My main concern is what aspects, beside the work count and the difficulty of the text I should take into account in order to provide a fair and reasonable quote to my client.

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 22:14
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Well... Aug 19, 2017

Though I have been a translator for over 30 years I have only translated one book, a medical handbook in collaboration with a physician, and I must say that I will not rush to repeat the experience! I learned a lot about obstetrics and gynecology, but it took up almost all my time for one year and it made quite difficult to accept other jobs as well. We dealt directly with the publisher and we were paid in monthly installments, chapter by chapter. Regarding the rate, it’s entirely up to you! I... See more
Though I have been a translator for over 30 years I have only translated one book, a medical handbook in collaboration with a physician, and I must say that I will not rush to repeat the experience! I learned a lot about obstetrics and gynecology, but it took up almost all my time for one year and it made quite difficult to accept other jobs as well. We dealt directly with the publisher and we were paid in monthly installments, chapter by chapter. Regarding the rate, it’s entirely up to you! I would charge my normal rate. I know that a lot of people give volume discounts for big jobs and that literary translators are paid less, but I really don't see why. I would start by translating two or three random pages just to see how long it will take and how much research I would need to do and then I’ll do the maths…Collapse