Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Attention all translators. Check out Google Translator Toolkit: translations with a human touch
Thread poster: Waleed Mohamed
Waleed Mohamed
Waleed Mohamed  Identity Verified
United Arab Emirates
Local time: 12:04
English to Arabic
+ ...
Jun 9, 2009

Google innovation continues....

Read here:
http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2009/06/translating-worlds-information-with.html

Best regards

Waleed

Claudia Alvis
Claudia Alvis  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 03:04
Spanish
+ ...
Human touch doesn't mean professional touch Jun 9, 2009

As I just said to a friend, Google still uses human translators to translate and proofread their products.

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 10:04
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Feeding Google with professional translations - <b>Privacy problems!</b> Jun 10, 2009

As a translator I won't use the toolkit for one single good reason: the toolkit will surely feed all my corrected translations to Google, which can be bad for my business in the long run as well as creating important privacy problems for/with my customers.

Laurent KRAULAND (X)
Laurent KRAULAND (X)  Identity Verified
France
French to German
+ ...
Google never defended privacy... Jun 10, 2009

Good morning, Tomas and all.
This topic was discussed in the French forum too, and Yves Champollion posted a message about Wordfast Anywhere vs. Google Translator Toolkit.

As a side issue, Yves Champollion pointed to the fact that even Gmail contents (yes, our very own emails if we use Gmail) could be indexed - does that mean publicly available? - some day:

Yves Champollion wrote:
Récemment je lisais que le contenu des mails de Gmail.com était susceptible de se retrouver indexé un jour... c'était écrit noir sur blanc dans leurs conditions. J'y ai pas cru sur le coup, mais j'ai vérifié.

G. never defended privacy as an (absolute) value, don't expect them to do it in the future.

Laurent K.