Thread poster: Toshiro Yamaguchi
Toshiro Yamaguchi
Toshiro Yamaguchi
Local time: 01:01
English to Japanese
+ ...
Mar 24, 2020

Hello community,

I am a freelance translator, have been recently working closely with two agencies with various projects. Not through this ProZ site but we directly email each other the source files and completed files. Rates and terms of payment have been agreed on email and stated on 'signed contract' or 'purchase order' all on electronically.

I translate between Japanese and English, work from New York, USA. One agency seems to be located in Copenhagen, Denmark, and
... See more
Hello community,

I am a freelance translator, have been recently working closely with two agencies with various projects. Not through this ProZ site but we directly email each other the source files and completed files. Rates and terms of payment have been agreed on email and stated on 'signed contract' or 'purchase order' all on electronically.

I translate between Japanese and English, work from New York, USA. One agency seems to be located in Copenhagen, Denmark, and the other one in Cork and Dublin, Ireland. They both have address and some kind of website/on-line profiles.

Now their payment, for several projects dating back from January (60-90 days since invoice) are delayed and they are both very reluctant to reply my emails of due notice. I started fearing that they might just be scamming me into the free labor, and will ditch me once I start pressing on payment?

Does anyone know what protocol I should follow to these type of negligence? How am I supposed to pursue them legally, in the foreign countries?

Thank you for your advice.
Collapse

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Local time: 09:01
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
Some ideas. Mar 24, 2020