Beginner rate question: Transcription from Estonian Audio to Estonian text: rate 0.50 USD/ minute
Thread poster: Karin Ervin
Karin Ervin
Karin Ervin
Estonia
Local time: 01:17
English to Estonian
+ ...
Mar 28, 2020

Hi,

So I came across a transcription project, Estonian audio to Estonian text.

The rate that the company offers is 0.50 USD per audio minute. Is this considered a normal "average" rate or low?

I have some experience in translation (not professional paid gigs) but not in transcription. So I have no clue how much time it will take to transcribe 1 minute of audio file.

I am a beginner and they obviously saw my CV, having no professional transla
... See more
Hi,

So I came across a transcription project, Estonian audio to Estonian text.

The rate that the company offers is 0.50 USD per audio minute. Is this considered a normal "average" rate or low?

I have some experience in translation (not professional paid gigs) but not in transcription. So I have no clue how much time it will take to transcribe 1 minute of audio file.

I am a beginner and they obviously saw my CV, having no professional translation experience.

Do you suggest to accept this? I have a full time job but looking for some extra income currently. I usually negotiate these rates but this time just got an offer.

Also how do companies usually pay in case I don't have a company to give them an invoice? The compnay offering me this transcription is based in US. Is it commmon in this case for them to make a normal working contract for me? Wondering if taxes are deducted from this 0.30 USD. Any experience?

Additional info:

- Transcription of a large volume of audio into text
- files are ready for assignment
- I would be assigned 1hour of audio per day
- rate offer is USD 0.50 per audio minute
- Estonian audio into Estonian text transcription

Thanks in advance,
Karin

[Edited at 2020-03-28 10:26 GMT]

[Edited at 2020-03-28 10:30 GMT]
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified