Non-US people exchanging $ it all into their national currency due to the crisis
Thread poster: José Huarancca
José Huarancca
José Huarancca  Identity Verified
Peru
Local time: 05:20
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 25, 2020

First of all, I always get paid in USD. Second, my national currency is the "Nuevo sol (S/.)". Here in Peru, $1 is about S/.3.4 right now, it rose as high as S/.3.57 last month but now it went down and has kind of stayed there. I believe the price of $1 will plummet as the Pandemic goes on, but I may be wrong?

What are your predictions in the future, and what should I read to more or less get a grasp of the situation?

Thanks

[Edited at 2020-04-25 11:59 GMT]

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 13:20
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Exchange Rate Apr 25, 2020

First of all, I am not an economist, I am an engineer. The exchange rate depends on two currencies, one is USD and the other is Nuevo Sol. Change in any of these currencies reflects in the exchange rate you mentioned.

For example, the exchange rate between USD and Turkish Lira (USD/TL) has been increasing in favor of USD for the past several months. One USD roughly equals 7.0 Turkish Lira now. I think a big chunk of that exchange rate (USD/TL) is due to Turkish Lira devaluation
... See more
First of all, I am not an economist, I am an engineer. The exchange rate depends on two currencies, one is USD and the other is Nuevo Sol. Change in any of these currencies reflects in the exchange rate you mentioned.