Is there anywhere I can view examples of good and bad translations?
Thread poster: marijaflora
marijaflora
marijaflora
Australia
Local time: 07:39
Bosnian to English
+ ...
Oct 20, 2020

As a new translator, I think it would be helpful if I could see some examples of good and bad translations so that I could learn from these.
By bad I don't mean the really obvious (e.g., user manuals translated from Chinese) but more subtle things that may not seem like a bad translation to an untrained eye, but might be considered one by a client.

Robert Rietvelt
Robert Rietvelt  Identity Verified
Local time: 21:39
Member (2006)
Spanish to Dutch
+ ...
Bad translation? MT! Oct 20, 2020

Marijaflora wrote:

As a new translator, I think it would be helpful if I could see some examples of good and bad translations so that I could learn from these.
By bad I don't mean the really obvious (e.g., user manuals translated from Chinese) but more subtle things that may not seem like a bad translation to an untrained eye, but might be considered one by a client.

Translate a text with Google translate, Deepl or one of the other MT's available. Most of the times the translation looks OK for the untrained eye, till you really start reading it. There you have your example of a bad translation.

[Edited at 2020-10-20 18:10 GMT]

Joanna Posylek
Liviu-Lee Roth
Philip Lees
philgoddard
Philippe Etienne
Zeineb Nalouti
neilmac

Luca Tutino
Luca Tutino  Identity Verified
Italy
Member (2002)
English to Italian
+ ...
For what language combination? Oct 21, 2020

Just a possible avenue: you might look for blogs by colleagues translators working with your languages. A wonderful blog, including many such examples for the English-Italian combination, is "Terminologia etc." by Licia Corobolante. She launched the blog many years ago as part of her job at Microsoft so it is possible that some MS had terminologists are doing the same for other language combinations.

P.L.F. Persio
marijaflora

Rolf Keller