Thread poster: Mark van de Velde
Mark van de Velde
Mark van de Velde
Poland
Local time: 11:00
English to Dutch
Aug 15, 2018

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Wordfast Pro 5. Understanding the basics is not too hard, but I have a question about Translation Memories that are used in multiple projects.

As far as I understand TM's in WF 5 always live within a certain project. There are some existing TM's that I want to use for multiple projects, but it seems I need to import that TM for each and every project.

I saw that I can use TM's from other projects (via Add Project TMs), but that doe
... See more
Hi,

I'm relatively new to Wordfast Pro 5. Understanding the basics is not too hard, but I have a question about Translation Memories that are used in multiple projects.

As far as I understand TM's in WF 5 always live within a certain project. There are some existing TM's that I want to use for multiple projects, but it seems I need to import that TM for each and every project.

I saw that I can use TM's from other projects (via Add Project TMs), but that doesn't seem very logical to me. Do I really need to populate my 1st project with a lot of TMs and for every subsequent project choose from the TM's stored in that 1st project?

I would like to have to something like a Wordfast folder with a bunch of TMs and be able to choose for each new project which TMs from that folder I need this time. Any suggestions?

Speaking of TMs: is there a way to move the TM lookup window/pane. It nows takes a lot of scrolling when I want to see matches. It would be easier to consult the pane if it streched vertically on the right side of the screen instead of horizontally at the bottom of the screen.

Thanks for your help.
Collapse

Jean Lachaud
Jean Lachaud  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:00
English to French
+ ...
TMs are independant Aug 15, 2018