questions about subtitling work
Thread poster: lxh
lxh
lxh
Apr 12, 2007

I am interested in subtitling job but at present I am new to subtitling job, anybody can tell me about subtitling work?

1) the client usually provide the English (source language) subtitles in Word file or only provide the movie with/without source language subtitles?

2) the work includes subtitles translation and putting the translated subtitles onto the movie?

3) does this job need a subtitling software? which software is recommended for English to Chi
... See more
I am interested in subtitling job but at present I am new to subtitling job, anybody can tell me about subtitling work?

1) the client usually provide the English (source language) subtitles in Word file or only provide the movie with/without source language subtitles?

2) the work includes subtitles translation and putting the translated subtitles onto the movie?

3) does this job need a subtitling software? which software is recommended for English to Chinese subtitling?

4) what's the rate for English to Chinese? usually pay per minutes?

Thank you!
Collapse

Herminia Herrándiz Espuny
Herminia Herrándiz Espuny  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 13:37
English to Spanish
+ ...
It depends... Apr 12, 2007

lxh wrote:

3) does this job need a subtitling software? which software is recommended for English to Chinese subtitling?

Thank you!

1, 2 and 3: it depends on the client and the project. Sometimes you get only a Word file with all the subtitles and timecodes and you only have to translate that file with or without seeing the movie, that also depends on the project itself. There's also the possibility to receive only the movie in OV and that the client asks you to "extract" the original sscript and then, using a subtitle program, include the subtitles on the movie always keeping in mind the length and timecodes for every single subtitle.

4: sorry, no help here, Chinese is not one of my languages

José Henrique Lamensdorf