Interpreting Qualification Query [EngSpa]
Thread poster: happylandyes
happylandyes
happylandyes
Spanish to English
Nov 8, 2011

Hello everyone, I have relocated to the UK after 7 years as an overworked, extremely underpaid translator in Spain. I am now trying to find work in the UK, but I was recently turned down by an agency as I do not have a specific translation diploma, even though I have a modern languages degree, excellent references and a good CV. Can anyone advise as to a qualification that would be relatively quick and inexpensive to achieve?

Additionally, I would love to go into court/legal interp
... See more
Hello everyone, I have relocated to the UK after 7 years as an overworked, extremely underpaid translator in Spain. I am now trying to find work in the UK, but I was recently turned down by an agency as I do not have a specific translation diploma, even though I have a modern languages degree, excellent references and a good CV. Can anyone advise as to a qualification that would be relatively quick and inexpensive to achieve?

Additionally, I would love to go into court/legal interpreting. What would you clever people advise as to a qualification in this case?

Many thanks,
Lucy
Collapse

XXXphxxx (X)
XXXphxxx (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:10
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Quick and easy is not always best Nov 8, 2011

I hear what you're saying but a 'quick and easy' qualification is not likely to be worth much in the marketplace. Did you work as a translator or interpreter in Spain? We're all translators on here but someone may come along with a suggestion on a qualification for interpreters.

[Edited at 2011-11-08 16:03 GMT]

[Edited at 2011-11-08 16:45 GMT]

Russell Jones
Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Italian to English
Difficult Nov 8, 2011

Dear Lucy

Welcome to the UK.