pleasetranslate
pleasetranslate
United Kingdom
Local time: 22:55
English to German
Aug 1, 2013

Hi

I'm a new one and would not only say hello, no I have already a question(

I live in UK, I am a sole trader and don't charge VAT for my translations, for my customers in UK. How is it when I get clients from other EU countries or non EU countries do I have to charge VAT?

I have been looking for hours on the internet and in other translation forums, but it seems nobody knows it. Please are h
... See more
Hi

I live in UK, I am a sole trader and don't charge VAT for my translations, for my customers in UK. How is it when I get clients from other EU countries or non EU countries do I have to charge VAT?

I have been looking for hours on the internet and in other translation forums, but it seems nobody knows it. Please are here any experts they don't mind to help?

Thank you in advance
Christine
Collapse

Enrico Antonio Mion
Enrico Antonio Mion  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 23:55
English to Italian
+ ...
not me Aug 2, 2013

Hi Christine,

I've recently started my career as a freelance translator as well and frankly I don't understand much so I can't give you detailed information. Although, after some researches I have found out that every country has different laws and requires a VAT number accordingly on the amount of income. I live in France and for now my income is not high enough to require a VAT number.
Also, I am working for a client who is in Luxembourg and the VAT number was not mandatory
... See more
Hi Christine,

I've recently started my career as a freelance translator as well and frankly I don't understand much so I can't give you detailed information. Although, after some researches I have found out that every country has different laws and requires a VAT number accordingly on the amount of income. I live in France and for now my income is not high enough to require a VAT number.