Thread poster: ALMERCANA
ALMERCANA
ALMERCANA  Identity Verified
Morocco
Local time: 13:54
English to Arabic
+ ...
Sep 13, 2005

Hello translators, I have recently joined the internet translation though I'm a sworn translator since 1997. I want to know the general rules for gaining a job and how to avoid non-paying job posters?

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2005-09-14 18:25]

Aisha Maniar
Aisha Maniar  Identity Verified
Arabic to English
+ ...
Advice... Sep 14, 2005

Ahlan Nabil,
Welcome to our community. A bit of advice is what you shall get:
- firstly, make sure that your profile is detailed and up-to-date: make sure that you add as many details as possible about your experience and qualifications. Include information that potential clients would be interested in. Have a look at how others have done it to get a good idea.
- Participate in the website through the forums and Kudoz to make yourself more visible.
- As I understand it
... See more
Ahlan Nabil,
Welcome to our community. A bit of advice is what you shall get:
- firstly, make sure that your profile is detailed and up-to-date: make sure that you add as many details as possible about your experience and qualifications. Include information that potential clients would be interested in. Have a look at how others have done it to get a good idea.
- Participate in the website through the forums and Kudoz to make yourself more visible.
- As I understand it, Platinum membership (in the case of this website, of course there are others) makes jobs and the Blue Board, where you can access information about agencies, more accessible. Of course, you may not yet be able/prepared to upgrade but I reckon it's worth it.
- However, the Blue Board really is a wonderful tool for making sure you don't get swindled.
- Another way is to take on small jobs only initially to test an agency's payment practices.