Spanish to English translation rates and practices in Spain (literary translation)
Thread poster: GranadaEnglish
Dec 1, 2010

Hello all!

I'm a freelance English teacher and translator based in Spain. I am new to the forum and have taken a look at the other threads related to my questions but I still have some doubts. In another thread it was suggested that anything from 0.04-0.08€/word Spanish to English is what can be expected from the Spanish agencies depending on the quantity of work and experience. However, I am usually approached by private clients and, even after asking some colleagues, am unsure o
... See more
Hello all!

I'm a freelance English teacher and translator based in Spain. I am new to the forum and have taken a look at the other threads related to my questions but I still have some doubts. In another thread it was suggested that anything from 0.04-0.08€/word Spanish to English is what can be expected from the Spanish agencies depending on the quantity of work and experience. However, I am usually approached by private clients and, even after asking some colleagues, am unsure of how much to charge. When I started translating (for a private client) I received 0.04€/word and after reading the other thread and looking around at what others charge on the internet I feel like it's time to up the price!

How much is normal to charge private clients for:

1) Translation of Spanish articles to English for publication in magazines?
2) Translation from Spanish to English of a text from a book (approx. 150-200 pages)?

I normally just translate for magazines and have been approached recently about the book. I haven't been given any details but I wanted to resolve my doubts about it before persuing the possibility.

Do you charge an extra amount for the reading and revision time as it's a long text?
Does the copyright have anything to do with me?