Translation rate for European translators working in the UK (EN>FR exactly)
Thread poster: Cecilia Norton
Cecilia Norton
Cecilia Norton
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:04
English to French
+ ...
Apr 6, 2023

Hi.

If you are European (or better French) living in the UK working as a freelance translator for UK Agencies, this question is for you

Look i know this is a tough subject, but I need some honest answers.

I have been working as a translator for 13 years. I started very low at £0.055 per word back in the day and now serving as £0.085. Last year I increased my rate from £0.8 to £0.85 but I
... See more
Hi.

If you are European (or better French) living in the UK working as a freelance translator for UK Agencies, this question is for you

Look i know this is a tough subject, but I need some honest answers.

I have been working as a translator for 13 years. I started very low at £0.055 per word back in the day and now serving as £0.085. Last year I increased my rate from £0.8 to £0.85 but I have been really hit by this financial crisis, and I do wonder if I charge too low. Has anyone else increased their rates dramatically? Do you have different rates for easy translation versus technical ones?

Would it be cheeky to request an increase to £1/word for technical translation?

Thanks

Ceci
Collapse

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Cecilia Apr 9, 2023

As so far no one has answered your question, here is my two cents, though I’m not French and don’t live in the UK. Anyway, I’m European and some of my clients are UK agencies. In my experience, when you raise rates there are only three possible outcomes, they accept, they don't, they negotiate. So, you should have a strategy ready for the last two before announcing that you have raised your rates. As raising rates on existing clients is rather difficult, I would go slowly and increasing fr... See more