Vitals
Vitals  Identity Verified
Lithuania
Local time: 23:20
English to Lithuanian
+ ...
Oct 20, 2015

Dear all,

I do not know about you, but this book worked for me (as one of my most effective and favourite textbooks) both when I was a student and when I was a language lecturer.

I am talking about Raimond Murphy's "English Grammar in Use" - the well-known textbook.

When I watched this video (see link below) it was interesting to get the insights of the author himself and get the idea of why the book worked
... See more
Dear all,

I do not know about you, but this book worked for me (as one of my most effective and favourite textbooks) both when I was a student and when I was a language lecturer.

I am talking about Raimond Murphy's "English Grammar in Use" - the well-known textbook.

When I watched this video (see link below) it was interesting to get the insights of the author himself and get the idea of why the book worked and still works so well.

http://30years.cambridge.org/?utm_source=egu&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=launch#Slide4

I still recommend it to some "patients" who need to improve on their "grammar health".

Would be interesting to know how this famous book worked in your experience, so, please, share if you can.

All the best for your day!
Vitaly
Collapse

Michael Wetzel
Michael Wetzel  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 22:20
German to English
loved it Oct 20, 2015

I taught adults English for a year back in 2002/03 and I absolutely loved the Murphy's books (there was a red beginner's book and a blue intermediate/advanced, but I can't remember what had which exact name).

I enjoyed other good books in the same format (page of explanations, page of exercises) when learning German (Klett's Klipp & Klar) and French (Cle's Grammaire progressive du francais).

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Spanish to English
+ ...
Long live the Murph! Oct 20, 2015