Thread poster: Marzena Malakhova
Marzena Malakhova
Marzena Malakhova  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 08:37
English to Russian
+ ...
Mar 24, 2023

Is it true that German companies are not allowed to transfer money to any bank in Russia?

Last November a translation agency from Germany with a decent BB rating sent me a job. Right now I do not have a memdership and cannot see individual entries in their BB rating, just a total rating of 4.7 but before accepting the job I studied all the entries and found nothing suspicious. I made a translation and issued an invoice for this order that was to be paid by wire transfer by the end o
... See more
Is it true that German companies are not allowed to transfer money to any bank in Russia?

Last November a translation agency from Germany with a decent BB rating sent me a job. Right now I do not have a memdership and cannot see individual entries in their BB rating, just a total rating of 4.7 but before accepting the job I studied all the entries and found nothing suspicious. I made a translation and issued an invoice for this order that was to be paid by wire transfer by the end of the year.

Upon receiving my invoice they told me they could not transfer money to any bank in Russia and suggested that I opened a bank account in another country which was not an option for me. I suggested using other payment systems but they refused either. The translation was done in November 2022 when all the sanctions had been imposed. When giving me the job they already knew that they would not be able to pay it.

I got lost in the multitude of sanctions against my country and I cannot make out if it is true that they are prohibited to pay me directly or it is just a pretext for non-payment.
Collapse

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 07:37
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Marzena Mar 24, 2023

Marzena Malakhova wrote: