Thread poster: Maria-da-Fé Albuquerque
Maria-da-Fé Albuquerque
Maria-da-Fé Albuquerque
Portugal
Local time: 12:33
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Apr 24, 2023

Let’s just simplify and get our efforts compensated fairly and transparently.

I have seen that there has been some discussion already on why we Translators and Translation Agencies are not standardizing rates to an hourly rate, especially now with the MTPE or PEMT tasks.

I have been a fulltime professional Translator for 30 years, and I have always wondered why we charge by word/character/line, when there is a much simpler way to determine compensation for our time an
... See more
Let’s just simplify and get our efforts compensated fairly and transparently.

I have seen that there has been some discussion already on why we Translators and Translation Agencies are not standardizing rates to an hourly rate, especially now with the MTPE or PEMT tasks.

I have been a fulltime professional Translator for 30 years, and I have always wondered why we charge by word/character/line, when there is a much simpler way to determine compensation for our time and efforts?

The other day, I was proposed a half translation job, half MTPE job, and I thought that the rate determination that I was proposed was getting quite complex, and, even, ridiculous. The translation agency was proposing one rate for reps+100% matches, one rate for 95-99% matches, one rate for 76-94% matches, at my corresponding normal rates discount for the TR part of the job, and one rate for 0-74% MT matches, except that this last rate would be 50% of my normal per word rate, and not my normal MTPE per word rate. Why complicate? Really, why?