Rates for LQA (language quality assurance)
Thread poster: Begoña Recaséns
Begoña Recaséns
Begoña Recaséns  Identity Verified
Spain
Member (2020)
English to Spanish
May 8, 2023

Dear colleagues,

My client wants me to provide my rates for LQA, which I have never done before. Do you know if this is an hourly rate, or just a normal wordcount rate, and in that case, is this higher than the average proofreading/editing rate? As you can see, I have no idea what to say, so any suggestion on this is more than welcome.

Thanks a lot and have a great week, everyone.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 11:53
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Hourly May 8, 2023

Begoña Recaséns wrote:
My client wants me to provide my rates for LQA, which I have never done before.

Different clients mean different things by the word "LQA", but often, it means that you must review a translation and then make a list of all your edits. You are given a spreadsheet with columns like position, source text, original target text, updated target text, type of error, subtype of error, severity of error, description of error... and you have to fill in the spreadsheet for all edits in the file. If there are very few edits, then it doesn't take long. If there are more edits, then it takes very long. You have to categorize each and every edit by type and severity.

And... often, the translator is then given the opportunity to defend his work, and you are then asked to say whether you agree with the translator or not.

Kevin Fulton
Sebastian Witte
Thayenga
Renée van Bijsterveld
Évariste Willy Noah

Giuliana Buscaglione
Giuliana Buscaglione  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 02:53
Member (2001)
German to Italian
+ ...
Assessment or Assurance? May 8, 2023