Thread poster: Nikolett Dankovics
Nikolett Dankovics
Nikolett Dankovics
United Kingdom
English to Hungarian
+ ...
Aug 26, 2023

Dear Members,

I would need some help regarding rates and fees. I am very new to translation and I am trying to register with some agencies and I need to give the rates. I need help with this. What would be a realistic rate (per words or minimum charge) or fee for a translation assignment in the UK?
Many thanks in advance.
Regards,

Daniel Fernandes

Mihaela C N Plamadeala
Mihaela C N Plamadeala  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:31
English to Romanian
+ ...
good starting point Aug 26, 2023

hi, a good starting point is to check out the ProZ Tools, where you will find community rates for your language pair. Take it with a pinch of salt though, as they might be out of date. It obviously depends on the type of document, but I would say agencies are not very generous, they will not want to pay above 8p/w.

https://www.proz.com/?sp=pfe/rates

Thayenga
ATIL KAYHAN
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Daniel Fernandes
Winnie Cheong (X)
expressisverbis
Justin Scott

ATIL KAYHAN
ATIL KAYHAN  Identity Verified
Türkiye
Local time: 14:31
Member (2007)
Turkish to English
+ ...
Rates Aug 26, 2023

Rates also tend to change from country to country but we are trying to minimize that fluctuation by sticking to our rates in either USD or Euros (I took the liberty of using "we" here assuming that it is to every translator's best interest to keep our rates constant across different cultures). For example, the US and European countries usually respect your rates whereas some Eastern or Asian countries try to negotiate any rate data that they come across. What I usually do in such cases is to s... See more